Board and Committees

*As of May, 2017

Board of Advisors

Oversees personnel, planning, administration and operation of the institute

IKEYA Kazunobu Professor, National Museum of Ethnology
KADA Yukiko President, Biwako Seikei Sport College
KANZAWA Hiroshi Professor, Graduate School of Environmental Studies, Nagoya University
KOIKE Toshio Director, Global Centre of Excellence for Water Hazard and Risk Management
KONO Yasuyuki Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University
NIIKAWA Tatsuro Professor, Graduate School, Doshisha Univesity
NOE Keiichi Professor Emeritus & President-appointed Extraordinary Professor, Tohoku University
OTSUKI Kyoichi Professor, Faculty of Agriculture, Kyushu University
KUBOTA Jumpei Deputy Director-General, RIHN
TANIGUCHI Makoto Deputy Director-General, RIHN
MALLEE, Hein Professor, RIHN
NAKATSUKA Takeshi Professor, RIHN
TANAKA Ueru Professor, RIHN
TAYASU Ichiro Professor, RIHN

External Research-Evaluation Committee

External review of research project proposals

KOIKE Isao Professor Emeritus, the University of Tokyo
NAKANISHI Hisae Professor, Graduate School of Global Studies, Doshisha University
OKADA Mitsumasa Professor & Director of Center for Open Distance Education, The Open University of Japan / Professor Emeritus, Hiroshima University
TANAKA Masaru Director, Moune Institute for Forest-Sato-Sea Studies / Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University
TODA Takao Senior Special Advisor, International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
UCHIBORI Motomitsu Professor, The Open University of Japan
WADA Eitaro Member of the Japan Academy / Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University
YASUOKA Yoshifumi Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo
BAI, Xuemei Professor, Fenner School of Environment and Society, Australian National University, Australia
BINDER, Claudia Professor, Laboratory for Human-Environmental Relations in Urban Systems (HERUS), IIE - ENAC - EPFL, Switzerland
LU, Yonglong Professor, Research Center for Eco-Environmental Science Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
MCDONALD, Anne Professor, Graduate School of Global Environmental Studies, Sophia University, Japan
RANDALL, Roland Life Fellow, Girton College, University of Cambridge, UK
SCHOLZ, Roland Professor Emeritus, Institute for Environmental Decisions, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, Switzerland
VAN DER LEEUW, Sander Foundation Professor, School of Sustainability, Arizona State University, USA
ZHANG, Shiqiu Professor, College of Environmental Sciences and Engineering, Peking University, China

Council for Research Strategy

Oversees research strategy, personnel, project, and evaluation system

YASUNARI Tetsuzo Director-General
KUBOTA Jumpei Deputy Director-General
TANIGUCHI Makoto Deputy Director-General
NAKASHIZUKA Tohru Specially Appointed Professor
SAIJO Tatsuyoshi Specially Appointed Professor
SUGIHARA Kaoru Specially Appointed Professor
MALLEE, Hein Professor
NAKATSUKA Takeshi Professor
TANAKA Ueru Professor
TAYASU Ichiro Professor
KAWANO Hiroshi Director, Administrative Office